A House United

I chose “A House United” as a theme for the blog because I don’t think this theme is a typical lens through which to view the Civil War, Our War, and its ongoing significance to us. The conversation I want to have is the one that asks – what is it going to take to heal ourselves of these profound, self-inflicted wounds, move on with our evolution as a country and encourage us to deepen our commitment as citizens?

There is an equally simple and devastating alternative question to this one. What other choice do we have?

“A house divided itself cannot stand.”

A house united cannot fall.

About Antonio Elmaleh

Author of The Ones They Left Behind. A Civil War veteran, on a mission of peace and healing, attempts to re-create Sherman's March. Based on a true story.
This entry was posted in Civil War, House United and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A House United

  1. Linda Welch says:

    Dear Mr. Elmaleh, My sister Gael (a friend of yours) gave me your book for Xmas. After reading my own great grandfathers diary and then reading your book. I have come away with a greater sense of what it must have been like to do what this man did. Thank you for such a wonderful and well written book. I can’t wait for the next one that Gael says you are writing.

    Like

  2. Many thanks for your kind words and for taking the time to read my book. It has never ceased to amaze me how many people over the generations have been touched by this event. To be part of opening new chapters into our understanding of what our country went through, and more importantly, to not let it happen again, is an honor to me.

    Like

Join the conversation.

